Racing Season Approaches

The last few weeks have been a bit of a blur. We have been busy preparing for and completing a time trial in the pair and a 2 km erg test. I felt the time trial went well for me and my partner, Kevin Light. It was a chance to get into race mode and go through the mental game that comes with preparing for a maximal effort over 2 km. The whole team has made good progress through the winter with many of us pulling personal bests on the 2 km erg test. The hardest training is still ahead of us as we prepare to head to Lucerne for the third World Cup. I am training hard to earn a spot in the 8 and for the opportunity to represent Canada at the international level. As I write this, I’m recovering from pneumonia which infected me earlier this week. It’s frustrating getting sick at a time like this, but I’ll bounce back from it.  The team will travel to Erba, Italy for a two week training camp before the World Cup in early July.  The amount of hard training we do everyday has given me confidence leading up to summer racing and I can’t wait to blast off that start line. 

It’s been a while between posts, so sorry to you friends and family who I’m trying to keep in the loop through this website.  If you have any questions or want me to talk about something specific, just leave me a comment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Racing Season Approaches

  1. David Brown says:

    Hey, Jeremiah, Your Dad just told me you made the 8 squad..congratulations..(Was there ever any doubt?)

    • Jeremiah says:

      Thanks David. There is always someone vying to take your spot. Your seat is always on the line and you don’t forget it, or you’ll lose it soon enough. So, you just work hard every day, every practise, every stroke.

Leave a Reply

