E-drum Shock Absorbing Platform

Hello drummers,

I just wanted to post some pictures of a platform I built using tennis balls to absorb the impact of the bass drum based on research online.  It has worked perfectly as intended -my neighbours below are no longer annoyed by my constant thudding.

All you need is a drill, 1.5" hole saw bit, 1/4" bit,  zip ties, and cheap tennis balls

All you need is a drill, 1.5″ hole saw bit, 1/4″ bit, zip ties, and cheap tennis balls

2, 4ft x 3ft pieces of 5/8" MDF.  1.5" holes should be drilled with a hammer drill or something fairly powerful.  This is the longest part of the project.  I spaced the holes fairly evenly across the surface area I had.  It's not an exact science -I don't think it really matters that much.  The outside holes are 4" in from the sides of the MDF.

2, 4ft x 3ft pieces of 5/8″ MDF. 1.5″ holes should be drilled with a hammer drill or something fairly powerful. This is the longest part of the project. I spaced the holes fairly evenly across the surface area I had. It’s not an exact science -I don’t think it really matters that much. The outside holes are 4″ in from the sides of the MDF.

Use the 1/4" drill bit to drill holes around the sides of the MDF for securing later with zip ties.

Use the 1/4″ drill bit to drill holes around the sides of the MDF for securing later with zip ties.

Feed the zip ties through the bottom of one of piece of MDF, then put tennis balls in holes, place the other piece on top, and zip down.

Feed the zip ties through the bottom of one of piece of MDF, then put tennis balls in holes, place the other piece on top, and zip down.

Don't tighten the zips too much.  Best to keep your weight off the platform when doing it, then do a final adjustment with some weight on it.

Don’t tighten the zips too much. Best to keep your weight off the platform when doing it, then do a final adjustment with some weight on it.

I had a smaller 2ft x 3ft platform for my prior Roland HD-1 kit.  I combined it with the new platform to be the perfect size for my DTX 950

I had a smaller 2ft x 3ft platform for my prior Roland HD-1 kit. I combined it with the new platform to be the perfect size for my DTX 950

2, 4ft x 3ft pieces of 5/8" MDF.  1.5" holes should be drilled with a hammer drill or something fairly powerful.  This is the longest part of the project.  I spaced the holes fairly evenly across the surface area I had.  It's not an exact science -I don't think it really matters that much.  The outside holes are 4" in from the sides of the MDF.

2, 4ft x 3ft pieces of 5/8″ MDF. 1.5″ holes should be drilled with a hammer drill or something fairly powerful. This is the longest part of the project. I spaced the holes fairly evenly across the surface area I had. It’s not an exact science -I don’t think it really matters that much. The outside holes are 4″ in from the sides of the MDF.

Platform complete! Still a very firm and stable foundation without the sound shock transmission through the floor.

Platform complete! Still a very firm and stable foundation without the sound shock transmission through the floor.

This entry was posted in Drumming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

